Museums and historic houses
Fine architecture has been evident in Cowal since the 17th century with houses such as Strachur and Ardkinglas still used as family homes. Others such as Old Kilmun House and Ormidale House, are finding a new lease of life let to house parties and others such as Dunans castle are under restoration.
At the turn of the 19th century Cowal became a popular destination for rich industrialists and merchants to build second homes, attracted by the escape to a still unspoiled environment. Many are still private homes such Ardkinglas House and others have found a second life as hotels.
The Argyll Mausoleum is located adjacent to Kilmun Church in the village of Kilmun, Argyll, Scotland on the shores of the Holy Loch. The history of Scotland has been associated with this area for thousands of years. The earliest known peoples settled here around 3500 BC; the 6th century Columban monk Fintan Munnu (Mun) built his chapel here; the Vikings explored here; there was a thriving mediaeval community; and the Victorian wealthy built their villas. People have been making their mark here for centuries.
The Argyll Mausoleum was built in 1790 to house the remains of the Dukes and Earls of Argyll, Chiefs of the Clan Campbell, and their families. The current building replaces an earlier chapel and records indicate that Clan Campbell chiefs have been buried here since the 15th century. The last burial was of the 10th Duke in 1949.
The visitor centre, situated in the church, will give you lots of information on the mausoleum, the church and its windows, the graveyard and local families and history too. Please see web site for opening times and admission fees.
Send them an email
Castle House Museum, Dunoon’s landmark building
Castle House in Dunoon is now the Museum for Cowal in a picturesque setting above Dunoon pier, providing fabulous views over the water . The museum is within Castle House, built in 1824 on the site of the original medieval Dunoon castle which now provides gardens which are very popular for family picnics. The displays include evidence of life in Cowal from its beginning in the stone age to modern times.
Strachur Smiddy is a unique record of the technology of the blacksmith and his craft. It has a long history, at least since the 1790s, the contents remained virtually untouched from the day it closed in the 1950’s until its restoration as a museum. Occasional open days include demonstrations of the smith’s craft. A modest admission fee applies.
The Old Manse Museum
The Old Manse at Inverchaolain, near Colintraive is a small Museum dedicated to the Lamont clan. “Here We Are” at Cairndow is an information centre on the local area, both past and present, for both visitors and local people.
Situated on the shores of Loch Fyne, against a spectacular background of rugged mountains and ancient forest, Ardkinglas House is an architectural gem, designed by Robert Lorimer. Still occupied as a family home, it has remained largely unchanged for 100 years. The 12,000 acres of Ardkinglas Estate provides many attractions to visitors, including a woodland garden which hosts the tallest tree in Britain. House tours are available every Friday from April-September by appointment only. Private tours can be arranged through-out the year at a minimum cost.